Planning a Career


Hello everybody! My name is Matthew Facciani (he/him) and I am currently a postdoc researcher at Vanderbilt University. I just graduated with my PhD in sociology from the University of South Carolina this summer. Before that, I was in a different PhD program studying cognitive neuroscience before I changed fields.



Graduate school has certainly been a journey for me and I’m happy to share my experiences during the grad chat! For my academic work, I am studying how different social factors impact the health of LGBTQ individuals. My dissertation was on political polarization and misinformation.


So I’ve studied a few different things! I still have the goal of becoming a professor someday, even though that is such a challenge with the current job market. Outside of academia, I am passionate about science communication and social justice activism. Looking forward to chatting with y’all soon!

Matthew (@MatthewFacciani) will be talking over the @PhD_Balance Instagram account tomorrow before joining Susanna Harris and Fay Lin on Saturday's (09/26) Grad Chat to talk about changing academic incentive structures. Grad Chat is live-streamed on YouTube Saturday's at 3 pm EDT/12 pm PST/8 pm BST! Use this link to set a reminder for Grad Chat on Saturday [Youtube Live link].

Stay up to date with PhD Balance!

  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • LinkedIn
  • Pinterest

© 2018-2020 by Community Balance LLC

Nothing on any of our pages should be interpreted as professional or medical advice.

designed by klattalyst.com